

UNBC Faculty and Staff in Solidarity with the Wet'suwet'en Hereditary Chiefs

We, the following faculty and staff at the University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC), are expressing our solidarity with the Wet'suwet'en Hereditary Chiefs who have evicted Coastal Gas Link (CGL) and their employees from their territories. We call on the Government of British Columbia and the Government of Canada, as well as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) to respect this eviction that is based on the fact that the Wet'suwet'en Hereditary Chiefs have never ceded their jurisdiction to the lands they have governed for thousands of years.

The Supreme Court of Canada, in Delgamuukw & Gisday wa, upheld the fact that Aboriginal Rights to traditionally occupied, unceded lands in British Columbia have not been extinguished and that provincial laws cannot extinguish Aboriginal Rights.

Our federal government talks of reconciliation and our provincial government has recently passed a bill that says they will honor the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP). These are hollow promises if they continue to support resource development projects like CGL against the expressed will of the Wet'suwet'en Hereditary Chiefs.

Our university has a long history of recognizing and honoring Aboriginal leaders who have fought for the land rights of their people. The late Dr. Alfred Joseph held the name Gisday wa and spent a great deal of his life fighting for the land rights of the Wet'suwet'en people. Dr. Roger William led the Tsilhqot'in land title case that was decided by a unanimous decision in the Supreme Court of Canada. Our present Chancellor, Dr. Joseph Gosnell was a key figure in the Nisga'a, fight for self-government of their lands. These individuals were all awarded honorary degrees from UNBC.

At this pivotal point in Canadian history, we ask our elected leaders, provincially and federally to insist the RCMP stand down. We also ask our elected leaders to



17. Valerie Boyes

begin honorable and respectful negotiations with the Wet'suwet'en Hereditary Chiefs in regards to their rights and title to the lands they have been responsible for since time immemorial.

| 1. Dr. Ross Hoffman | First Nations Studies |
|--------------------------|---|
| 2. Dr. Marieka Sax | Geography Program |
| 3. Michelle Connolly | Pacific Institute for Climate Solution |
| 4. Antonio Muñoz Gómez | Geoffrey R. Weller Library |
| 5. Dr. Si Transken | School of Social Work |
| 6. Dr. Arthur L. Fredeen | Ecosystem Science & Management Program |
| 7. Aneta Douglass | Finance Department |
| 8. Dr. Gail Fondahl | Geography Program |
| 9. Felicity Edzerza | International Student Services |
| 10. Dr. Zoe Meletis | Geography Program |
| 11. Sheila Iwanciwski | School of Education |
| 12. Dr. Paul Sanborn | Ecosystem Science and Management |
| 13. Dr. Sean Maurice | Northern Medical Program |
| 14. Dr. Rajeev Pillay | Natural Resources & Environmental Studies |
| 15. Mandi Schwarz | Geoffrey R. Weller Library |
| 16. Dr. Kristen Guest | Department of English |

Institutional Planning Analyst



| 18. Dr. Sarah de Leeuw | Northern Medical Program |
|----------------------------|--|
| 19. Dr. Pamela A. Wright | Ecosystem Science and Management |
| 20. Dr. Loraine Lavallee | Department of Psychology |
| 21. Dr. Philip Mullins | Outdoor Recreation & Tourism Mngmnt. |
| 22. Dr. Denise Tarlier | School of Nursing |
| 23. Dr. Tina Fraser | School of Education |
| 24. Anita Shaw | Instructor, Women's and Gender Studies |
| 25. Spencer Hammond | First Nations Centre |
| 26. Erica Hernandez-Read | Northern BC Archives & Special Collections |
| 27. Danika Doucette | Facilities Management |
| 28. Marian Kotowich-Laval | School of Education\ |
| 29. Dr. Natalia Loukacheva | Department of Political Science |
| 30. Vaunda Dumont | Geoffrey R. Weller Library |
| 31. Dr. Paul D. Siakaluk | Department of Psychology |
| 32. Dr. Steve Helle | Environmental Engineering |
| 33. Belinda Larisch | |
| 34. Dr. Paul Bowles | Department of Economics |
| 35. Earl Henderson | First Nations Studies |
| 36. Maria Walsh | |
| 37. Robert Laval | |



| 38. Dr. Scott Green | Natural Resources & Environmental Studies |
|------------------------------|---|
| 39. Dr. Daniel J. Weeks | President & Vice-Chancellor |
| 40. Bethany Haffner | Office of Graduate Studies |
| 41. Dr. Jason Lacharite | Department of Political Science |
| 42. Dr. Hossein Kazemian | Northern Analytical Lab Services |
| 43. Jenni Bomford | Department of English |
| 44. Dr. Jernej Polajnar | Computer Science |
| 45. Nicole Balliet | Office of Research |
| 46. Dr. Jonathan Swainger | History Department |
| 47. Dr. Sylvia Barton | School of Nursing |
| 48. Katriona S. Auerbach | Health Arts Research Centre |
| 49. Dr. Vanessa Sloan Morgan | Geography Program |
| 50. Dr. Eduardo Martins | Ecosystem Science & Management Program |
| 51. Dr. Thomas Tannert | Integrated Engineering Wood Design |
| 52. Dr. Susan Burke | School of Social Work |
| 53. Dr. Jacqueline Holler | History Department |
| 54. Dr. Alina Constantin | Northern Medical Program |
| 55. Dr. Henry Harder | School of Health Sciences |
| 56. Dr. Antonia Mills | |
| 30. Dr. Aritorna ivinis | First Nations Studies |



| 58. Dr. Alexander Lautensach | School of Education |
|------------------------------|--|
| 59. Dr. Richard Schuster | Ecosystem Science & Management Program |
| 60. Dr. Diana Kutzner | ECHO Network |
| 61. Glen Thielmann | School of Education |
| 62. Shannon MacKay | Student Recruitment & Advising Centre |
| 63. Hugues Massicotte | Ecosystem Science & Management Program |
| 64. Linda Tackaberry | Ecosystem Science & Management Program |
| 65. Dr. Margot Parkes | School of Health Sciences |
| 66. Dr. Stephen Rader | Department of Biochemistry |
| 67. Dr. Kevin Hutchings | Department of English |
| 68. Dawn Hemingway | School of Social Work |
| 69. Dr. Farid Rahemtulla | Anthropology Program |

As of 4:00pm Jan. 10, 2020