Unist'ot'en Statement of Support

Faculty, Students, and Staff Mount Royal University Calgary, Alberta

To be sent to: Unist'ot'en organizers: https://unistoten.camp/support-us/solidarity-statements/

Faculty, Students, and Staff at Mount Royal University stand in solidarity with the Unis'tot'en in their fight to see their inherently legitimate rights actually acknowledged by the Federal and Provincial Governments.

We condemn the intrusion of and the actions perpetrated by the RCMP and Coastal Gaslink Pipeline on the unceded Wet'suwet'en territories and stand with the claims made by the Wet'suwet'en Nation. The Wet'suwet'en people have called for statements of solidarity, and we wish our support to be noted.

We deplore the fact that the reaction from the Federal government violates the *United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples*, of which Canada is a signatory. It constitutes an attack on First Nations rights to sovereignty and contradicts the pillars of the Truth and Reconciliation process, which clearly establish "renewed nation-to-nation" relationships among its guiding principles.

We believe that Mount Royal University has a clear mandate to educate citizens about the ongoing dispossession of Indigenous peoples in what is currently Canada. The University's Indigenous Strategic Plan calls for the University to do "its part to address the legacy of broken promises and rebuild the relationships between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples in Calgary and across the country." As part of an institution engaged in decolonization and indigenization, we issue this statement in support of the Wet'suwet'en people in the hopes of fostering their claims -- and all Indigenous peoples' claims -- to sovereignty.

Sincerely,

- Antoine Eche Kit Dobson Tanya Stogre Carol Armstrong Sarah Brown Gabrielle Lindstrom Sean Carleton Renae Watchman
- Bob Montgomery Jessica Lee Wah Lori Barrett Cari Ionson Andrea Phillipson Marty Clark Brad Clark Angela Deranger
- Leonzo Barreno Christine Brownell Audra Foggin Zahara Adevokhai Victoria Bouvier Deepa Upadhyaya Emily Hutchison Irene Shankar

Aliyah Dosani D. Scharie Tavcer Scott Murray Milena Radzikowska

Mary-Lee Mulholland Michelle Gladue John Fischer Leah Hamilton Justine Huet Khatija Westbrook Liam Haggarty